Oregon Homeschooling

Here are some important links with information about homeschooling in Oregon!

 

Oregon Christian Home Education Network

Oregon Department of Education Homeschooling Information

Homeschool Legal Defense Association

 

This is a complete list of the Oregon laws pertaining to homeschooling. My basic understanding of the laws are as follows:

  • You may homeschool your children
  • You must send a letter to your local ESD to let them know that you plan to¬†homeschool, by the time the child is 6 years old on September 1.
  • You only need to send this letter once, unless your child attends public, private or charter school and then returns to homeschooling (then you must send another letter, by September 1).
  • Your child needs to be tested by a neutral party at the end of grades 3, 5, 8 and 10 and hold onto those tests. If the local superintendent requests your student’s test scores, you must send them a copy at that time.
  • If your child tests below the 15th percentile (compared to students in their grade), he or she will need to test again in 1 year. If the student tests below the 15th percentile again, they will need to test again in another year. If, at that point, they still test below the 15th percentile, the school district will decide if the child needs to be supervised under a licensed teacher, or attend school for 12 months or less.
  • There are no attendance laws in Oregon for homeschoolers.

Please read the laws for more details, and also this great summary of the law from Ocean Network. Another great resource is the Homeschool Legal Defense Association.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment